The start of a busy weekend

First rule of journalism: if you think it’s going to be a quiet day, it definitely isn’t. There comes a point when you dread checking your emails because there’ll be another press release or another request for an article and, though I enjoy it, sometimes you just want to make a cup of tea and relax for twenty seconds.

That was yesterday.

The plan was to get a few things done in preparation for the deadlines I have in a few weeks’ time and a couple of things I have to get ready for next week. First up, script writing. I’d scribbled down a rough draft on Thursday, but still needed to find a few quotes on the subject to stick into the piece.

It didn’t take long to find a couple of quotes about why people were opposed to the change but, as always, finding a quote from the government that said something and not just waffle proved a little more difficult.

A few drivers were announced for the support series that I cover for Overtake Motorsport, so those were added to my to do list for the day. These kind of things are fairly simple, I’ve found now. There’s not a lot to say on the subject most of the time, especially when the drivers are rookies and there’s not much to say about their careers so far. But it does get me excited for the year ahead. So many new drivers to watch out for.

rechargeSpeaking of looking ahead, the Friday before the race caught me again. I am so excited about going to Paris now. After speaking to my lecturer on Wednesday, my to do list before I head to France is now about the size of my arm, but it’ll be worth it in the end, I’m sure.

Every Friday, e-racing.net does a round up of the week in Formula E on our tumblr blog. Or, seeing as I’m in charge of that, every Friday I’m not so busy I forget. Yesterday there was a lot to recap, with so much happening the week in the build up to the ePrix and in the general Formula E world. Sometimes its crazy to think how much can happen in a week, but it has been a very busy week.

And my WiFi has just come back on! Just in time to get this posted! Don’t you love technology!

Now, back to the preparations for this evening. There’s a lot to do today, and the lack of WiFi means I haven’t done most of it…

Leave a Reply

