Testing, testing…

It’s been a busy couple of weeks since I last updated, and I’ve got a busy couple of weeks to come too.

We’ve finally seen some cars on track and the new motorsporting year is almost upon us.

Testing is strange. It’s one of those things that is important to cover, even though it might not tell us anything about what we’ll really see when the season actually begins. And, at the same time, it’s not like a race in that you can make notes as it happens. It’s all day and, even if I didn’t have anything else to do, I would die of boredom before lunch, I think, seeing as there’s no broadcasting coverage and I would only be going off of text commentary.

As I was only doing reports for the day for Race Department and Formula One Insider, it wasn’t essential I sat at home for four days a week, staring at live timings and text commentary as it happened. Instead, it was a case of going through the text commentary at about half four and making notes on the points of interest. Trying to find an angle besides “so-and-so topped whilst McLaren had more mechanical problems” was a little harder, but I think I managed to do it. Going through the day’s events, it was important to pick out key points rather than just a lap by lap account of what happened, something I think I managed quite successfully.

Besides testing and the usual driver announcements, my main focus over the past couple of weeks has been Winchester News Online.

After a few weeks being unable to contribute properly, I decided it would be a good idea to do something on the budget this week – an incredibly exciting story that I’m sure had everybody hooked. Working with another journalist on WINOL, we put together a script, seeing as images for TV at such short notice weren’t going to come easy.

Now, I am not good in front of the camera. Last year I did a few pieces in the studio as political correspondent and a mixture of looking like a mop with legs and having the memory of a goldfish means it didn’t go too well, but that’s all part of the learning process. This time, there would be no remembering, as we used the autocue, which produces its own problem

I can’t read.

Ok, I can read. I read fine. But reading to retain information and reading aloud is not easy as my eyes skip about the page and combine sentences when they really don’t go together.

Surprisingly, it didn’t go so bad.

This week, I won’t be in the studio (at least, I really hope I won’t be), as I’ve been working on a package I’m very excited about. I can’t wait to start editing!

Leave a Reply

